Awoken by the Rouse. 

Tears shed during the Last Post.

Tears shed, remembering those who had fallen before.

1915 signalled the day that both Australians and New Zealanders mourn for those who were lost within combat on every field of battle.

I sleep uneasy, for the years to come, where my friends who are Cadets now, turn into fully fledged soldiers. Everyday, I talk to them, make memories, and bond with them. For there may be a day where I will remember all of it.

They shall grow not old, as we that are left grow old:

Age shall not weary them, nor the years condemn.

At the going down of the sun and in the morning,

We will remember them.

I will never forget the sacrifice young men and women have made for my country, Australia, for New Zealand. 

Today is a special day. And it is important to me in many ways.

Lest we forget.

~Connor R. Ryan

Leave a Reply

